06 Nov 2018
Award Ceremony 2018 of the RSEQ to be celebrated at CIB

Next November 16th 2018 from 11:00h will be celebrated at the Main Lecture Hall of Centro de Investigaciones Biológicas the Award Ceremony 2018 of the Real Sociedad Española de Química which will distinguish several Spanish scientists being awarded for their contributions in the field of chemistry.
The Golden Medal of the RSEQ is awarded to Dr. Jesús Jiménez Barbero, who led the group of NMR and Molecular Recognition at Centro de Investigaciones Biológicas until 2014, when he took over the position of Scientific Director of CIC bioGUNE (Bilbao).

The Recognition awards for distinguished research careers are given to Dr. Manuel Yáñez Montero (Universidad Autónoma de Madrid) y el Dr. Miguel Ángel Miranda Alonso (Universidad Politécnica de Valencia).

The Research Excelence Awards 2018 are received by Dr. Sofía Calero Díaz (Universidad Pablo de Olavide), Dr. Juan Casado Cordón (Universidad de Málaga), Dr. Concepción Gimeno Floría (Instituto de Síntesis Química y Catálisis Homogénea, ISQCH-CSIC) and Dr. Xavier Ribas Salamaña (Universidad de Gerona).

The Prize for educational and outreach areas of pre-university education is awarded to D. Josep Corominas Viñas, and the Diploma for excellence in the teaching of chemistry in High School is given to Dr. Mercedes Bombín Castrejón, teacher at IES “Isabel la Católica” (Madrid).

The event will be chaired by the General Director of Scientific and Technical Research (Ministerio de Ciencia, Innovación y Universidades), Marina Villegas who will be accompanied by Francisco Javier Cañada, CIB Vicedirector, and Antonio M. Echavarren, President of the RSEQ. Those members of the RSEQ who have belong to the society for more than 45 years will also be distinguished during the ceremony that will end with a conference given by Dr. Dr. José Manuel Martínez, Director of CEPSA Química, entitled "La Química en CEPSA".

Full program (in spanish) here.